Mitchell Marsh Controversial Decision by Third Umpire, Final ODI February 8 2016

Today’s match was a good contest between Australia Vs New Zealand. The Kiwis gave Aussies a target of 246 to chase. The Aussies were out of the match after scoring 191 runs. New Zealand won by 55 runs but it might not have been that easy Mitchell Marsh was not controversially given out. Marsh was playing on 41 runs when a stroke of bad luck happened. Marsh gave Australia the last hope for surviving this game. He was playing at a strike rate of 97.61. He was given out by the umpire.


The Marsh was batting with a lovely bat and arm. He was opening up. He was already looking impressive in the middle of the innings with 1 sixer and four boundaries. Mathew Wade was his partner in those overs where they were trying well to chase the New Zealand bowlers. Marsh played 42 balls. In the 34th over, Marsh was given out by the third upire by referring to the TV umpire. Henry was the lucky bowler.

Henry and Hastings were breaking the back of Aussie batsmen. But Marsh was the last hope of them. Marsh was facing Henry. There ball was medium paced delivery. The ball was out of the off stomp, but Marsh wanted to play the ball towards the On side. Marsh did not get to the pitch of the ball, and ended up playing the ball on his toe. The ball bounced towards the bowler Henry. It looked like as if it was a clean catch as the ball went straight into the hands of Henry.

The bowler appealed the umpire and the umpire gave his decision for the third umpire to get involved. The replay umpire was referred, The batsman was given out unfortunately. It cost Australia the match and the series. this remains the most controversial decision.

Controversy! – Mitchell Marsh Caught & Bowled… by ptvcricketofficial

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply