Imran Nazir’s 75 Runs Blazed Dhaka To Title Win In BPL

Pakistani batsman, Imran Nazir is a certainly remarkable striker of the cricket ball and he is someone who has contributed a lot in the success of his team. He opened the batting with Saeed Anwar in 21 ODIs. The pair is the only Pakistani batsmen to have scored 150 runs in ODI cricket. He is also among the few cricketers who made his International debut in the era of 1990s.

It was the final of Bangladesh Premier League in 2012. 2 teams who made it to the finals were Dhaka Gladiators and Barisal Burners. Mashrafe Mortaza, skipper of Dhaka Glaiators, won the toss and chose to field against Brad Hodge and his men.

After restricting Barisal Burners to sheer 140 runs, Dhaka Gladiators’ were off to a flying start, particularly Imran Nazir. On the 2nd and 3rd ball of the innings, he smoked Yasir Arafat for a 4 and a gigantic 6. The intent was clear i.e. to attack the opposition.

In the 12th over of the innings, he reached his fifty as he got on his knee and sweeps wide of short fine leg to celebrate the milestone in style. It took him 28 balls to reach the landmark. There was no stopping thereafter as he continued to bludgeon the bowling attack that literally had no clue while bowling to Imran Nazir who looked in scintillating form.

He eventually got out after scoring a brutal knock of 75 runs off just 43 deliveries with 6 fours and 6 sixes. The team only needed 6 runs off massive 31 deliveries when he got out. The score was achieved quite comfortably in the end and Imran Nazir’s punishing knock of 75 runs helped Dhaka Galdiators won the first title of Bangladesh Premier league. For his magnificent and glorious innings, Imran Nazir was also named Man of the Final.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply