Imran Nazir Wins Dhaka Gladiators First Ever BPL

Imran Nazir is a promising Pakistani batsman who had a fair share of contribution in the success of Pakistan Cricket team. He was particularly good and strong off the back foot. He represented Pakistan in 8 Tests, 79 ODIs and 25 T20Is. He was most suited to the shorter format of the game and fathomably so given his blistering batting flair as an opener.

On 29th February 2012, two teams, Barisal Burners and Dhaka Gladiators, met each other in the Bangladesh Premier League Final. The former team had couple of Pakistanis in Ahmed Shehzad and Yasir Arafat while Dhaka Gladiators had the services of Azhar Mahmood, Rana Naved-ul-Hasan, Shahid Afridi, Saeed Ajmal and Imran Nazir. Dhaka’s skipper, Mashrafe Mortaza, won the toss in grand finale and elected to field first.

Barisal Burners were restricted to 140 runs as Shahid Afridi bowled well to pick 3 wickets. In pursuit of the target, Dhaka were off to a blazing start as Imran Nazir crushed Yasir Arafat for a 4 and a 6 over long off region to clearly showcase his intent.

There was hardly any stopping as Imran Nazir kept on playing his strokes and never allowed any bowler to settle in. He raced his way to 50 runs off just 28 balls after playing some belligerent and delightful cricketing whacks. During his whirlwind knock of 75 runs off just 43 balls, he hit 6 fours and deposited the ball into the stands as many times as well. When he got out, his team required just 6 runs to win off 31 balls which was comfortably chased 5 balls later.

Due to his sizzling knock, Dhaka Gladiators were crowned Bangladesh Premier League champions. It was indeed a disdainful and highly classic innings from Imran Nazir who rose to the big occasion of the tournament. For his lightning knock, he was also named Man of the Final.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply